About Us


Background Information


Munghana Lonene fm Xitsonga Music Awards initiative was first launched in 2002 with only 4 categories and offering a mere R1000 as cash prize:

  • Song of the Year – Dr Thomas Chauke
  • Best Selling Album – Gezani Thomas Mzamani
  • Male Artist – George Maluleke
  • Best Gospel Song – Reverend Tshawane

The categories increased to 6 in 2003 with Male Artist, Female Artist and Xingondo as new categories and the prize money also increased to R4 000.

In 2004 more categories were added including song of the decade and the prize money increased to R5 000.

In 2005, the station (through these awards) honored the late Xitsonga Disco King, Paul Ndlovu by erecting a monument and also staged a free “Paul Ndlovu music concert in Phalaborwa which attracted more than 30 000 people.

In 2007 the awards were hosted at Galagher Estate in Midrand and the event was attended by the who is who of the music industry.

After the successful event in 2007, the 2008 awards were once again activated in Gauteng at Theatre on the track in Kyalami.

Due to the global recession in 2009, the awards did not happen in two successive years. The sponsors PFM Medical scheme pulled out.

The awards returned in 2011 and the event was for the first time opened to the public and was held at Nkowankowa stadium in Tzaneen.

In 2012, the competing categories increased to 12 and an additional 4 Special Awards were added and given to 4 musical legends when the station was celebrating memorable decade of hosting this worthy initiative.

In 2013 & 2014 Gala Dinner was activated indoors at Karibu Resort and the awarding ceremony & music festival took place  outdoor at Nkowankowa Stadium in Tzaneen.

In 2015, the Gala Dinner will beactivated indoor at Giyani Community Hall and the awarding ceremony & music festival to take place outdoor at Giyani Stadium.

Xitsonga Music Awards is the flagship event used as a brand building initiative for Munghana Lonene fm”

2015 categories indicated here below:

·      Best Xitsonga Song of the Year

·      Dr Thomas Chauke Artist

·      Best Male Artist

·      Best Female Artist

·      Best Newcomer

·       Best Xitsonga RnB

·       Best Xitsonga Collaboration

·      Best Duo/Group

·      Best Xitsonga Disco

·      Best Xitsonga Gospel Song

·       Best Xitsonga House

·       Munghana Lonene 50th Anniversary Special Song (Once off)

·       Xitsonga Language Purity

Munghana Lonene FM Station Management is committed to develop and promote South African Music, hence the visible desire to improve Xitsonga Music Awards into a household brand. The legendary Thomas Chauke has won 10 Xitsonga Music Awards, followed by Penny Penny and Zozo with 4 (four) each.

In 2013, Munghana Lonene FM management took a decision to rename the Artist of year category “Dr Thomas Chauke Artist of the year”.

Due to lack of enough Rhumba music released in this period, the category will be suspended this year.

Gospel music live recording and studio version categories have been fused into one.   


2015 Xitsonga Music Awards – Activation and Prizes


Details of the Gala Event for 2015:

  • DATE :           06 November 2015
  • VENUE :           Giyani Community Hall
  • TIME :           TBC – evening event.
  • MAIN EVENT :           Giyani Stadium; 07 November 2015 Time TBC.


Special Recognitions


In the past 13 years, the Station has bestowed special recognition to the following persons:

  • Peta Teanet – 2004 Posthumous Award.
  • Paul Ndlovu – 2004 Posthumous.
  • Khatisa Chavalala – 2005 Living Legend.
  • Samson Mthombeni – 2005 Living Legend.
  • Hlengani William Makhubele – 2005 Living Legend.
  • Almina Dumezulu – 2006 Living Legend.
  • Madya Ku Bomba – 2006 Living Legend.
  • Chicco Twala – 2006 Special Award.
  • Mzwakhe Mbuli – 2006 Special Award for initiating Operation Dudula – Anti-Piracy Campaign.
  • Yvonne Chaka Chaka – 2007 Special Award.
  • Linah Khama (A.K.A Ebony) – 2007 Special Award.
  • Nico Makelane – 2008 Living Legend.
  • MJ Hlungwani – 2008 Living Legend.
  • Samuel Mabunda – 2011 Living Legend.
  • Norman Mathebula – 2011 Living Legend
  • The late minister Collins Chabane – 2012 Special Award
  • The late Obed Ngobeni – 2012 Posthumous.
  • Noznja – 2012 Special Award
  • George Maluleke – 2012 Life time achievement
  • Dr Thomas Chauke – 2013 Special Award (Greatest Xitsonga musician of all times)
  • The late Ray Phiri – 2013 Companion of Xitsonga music
  • General MD Shirinda – 2013 Life Time Achievement Award
  • Penny Penny – 2013 Living Legend
  • The late SJ Khosa – 2013 Posthumous Award
  • Hotstix Mabuse – 2014 Companion of Xitsonga music
  • GT Chauke – 2014 Posthumous Award
  • Dwaro Rocks – 2014 Living Legends


Additional information

  • For the first time in the history, the awards will cross the borders and honor Mozambican music legend, Xidimingwana.
  • The following musicians will also be honored:
    • MC Mabasa – Living legend
    • Vusi Mahlasela – Companion of Xitsonga music
    • Joel Bvuma (Xihumbiyani) – Posthumous Award
  • Moocah and Zozo have monopolized Best RnB and Rhumba respectively.